Open Forum Refuge

Known to cause cancer in California
It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:12 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:07 pm
Posts: 1159
When you first turn on a computer with Win7 is there a way to change the amount of time that the message for options appears on the "splash" screen? Things go by so fast that there is no time to read the options.

Also the last few mornings I turn on my computer [but not the monitor] get the coffee brewing, enter my Windows password and dry and put away the dishes which takes at least 5 minutes. Finally sit down and turn on the monitor and the computer is spinning on the Welcome screen. I give it a couple minutes and no change so I press and hold the power button until it shuts down. Turn it back on and it starts up pretty quickly. Any ideas about what's going on?

_________________
Give me a home where the buffalo roam and I'll show you a house full of buffalo chit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:25 pm
Posts: 35601
mine was incrementally increasing its annoyance from week to week when I ditched it for a Mac. Press a key, it's on and ready to go.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 5:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:51 pm
Posts: 87768
Upgrade to Vista.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:27 pm 
Offline
CCW likes me more than Rollo
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 31708
Location: I lubricate my chains with wax
from a person with extensive technical experience: "it does sound f*cked up"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:30 pm 
Offline
CCW likes me more than Rollo
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 31708
Location: I lubricate my chains with wax
try this from the command line.

bcdedit /timeout 15


it's normally 5 seconds. this extends the boot loader menu to 15.

not sure why you would be seeing the boot loader screen unless there was a problem shutting down.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:31 am 
Offline
Smoe old dude's fried ball sundae~4-Ever!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:00 pm
Posts: 58946
Are you still allowing updates?

_________________
As my mother said to me once: "Cheer up, things could be worse." So I cheered up, and sure enough things got worse.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:07 pm
Posts: 1159
Rollo Tomassi wrote:
Are you still allowing updates?



Of course.

_________________
Give me a home where the buffalo roam and I'll show you a house full of buffalo chit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:07 pm
Posts: 1159
adamlaneus wrote:
try this from the command line.

bcdedit /timeout 15


it's normally 5 seconds. this extends the boot loader menu to 15.

not sure why you would be seeing the boot loader screen unless there was a problem shutting down.


It pretty much started normally this morning and loaded all that it was supposed to. As I indicated when the Welcome screen kept showing like forever I shut it off by holding down the power button until it shut off. When you turn it back on there is a menu where one of the choices is to start windows normally. Before that menu there is also some boot text where you can opt to do something like press F8 for diagnostics or whatever. That text goes off the screen too fast for me to see all of the options.

I'm wondering if the Avast software might have something to do with it. The Avast Cleanup Premium now allows one to put certain things like Acrobat in a "sleep" mode and wakes them up when you want to use it.

_________________
Give me a home where the buffalo roam and I'll show you a house full of buffalo chit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:06 pm 
Offline
Smoe old dude's fried ball sundae~4-Ever!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:00 pm
Posts: 58946
My problems stopped when I changed my settings to NEVER ALLOW UPDATES!

The guy who installed the whole NEW W7 system a year or two ago when the hard drive died said to ban the updates.
It has worked great since doing so.

fukifino dunno:

_________________
As my mother said to me once: "Cheer up, things could be worse." So I cheered up, and sure enough things got worse.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 1:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:07 pm
Posts: 1159
In checking for updates I now get the message that the service isn't running.

Got that fixed.

_________________
Give me a home where the buffalo roam and I'll show you a house full of buffalo chit.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2011, Georgia Pig Productions
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group