Open Forum Refuge

Known to cause cancer in California
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:00 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 5:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:39 am
Posts: 141
Location: Baytown, Texas
I have an old desktop (dell w/vista) that has been hard to start for the last 6-8 months. I was afraid that it would eventually guite so I bought a new one. It has windows 10 and I couldn't get used to it so I have prolonged swapping over.
Last night we had a power outage and now it will not start. This is what I have come up with so far.
When you push the start button it wants to start, the light comes on, the fans run for a second and then nothing. Before I could keep hitting the start button and eventually it would come on. Here is what I have tried so far.
1) I have replaced the 3v battery (I think that just saves time and date even though I think I read somewhere that it was/is integrated with the startup bios but that is way over my head)
2) I have tried another power supply from different computer that was a "close" match that I think should have worked.
3) I have checked all the connections to include removing the start button to verify it is working
4) I disconnected everything from the computer except the power cord. When I did this that is when it tried to start the best

My thinking is that it is a capacitor somewhere that is weak and I can't get enough "ump" to get it to go. If you let it sit for a minute it will try to go but if you keep hitting the start button it wont do anything until it has set for a while.
Any thoughts would be appreciated. It not so much a big deal to me as I have a new computer(the one I'm on now) but my wife is in total panic mode because there are a bunch of emails that she can't live without.
Thanks in advance, Steve

_________________
I think of a hero as someone who understands the degree of responsibility that comes with his freedom.
Bob Dylan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 6:02 pm 
Offline
CCW likes me more than Rollo
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 31441
Location: I lubricate my chains with wax
If this computer WAS working and now it is NOT, then that eliminates lots of things.

But if you have already ripped into the computer and replaced power supplies, then that re-introduces lots of things.

In my experience, this is caused by one of a zillion things:

1) The power supply is bad. More common than you might think.

2) The power supply's ATX connector (a smallish connector compared to the main power supply connector) is not connected.

3) The power outage damaged the computer, and now the computer is drawing more current than is acceptable and the PSU cannot achieve proper voltages because of it.

4) No heat sink on the CPU. It overheats instantly and the computer shuts down.

stupider things:

5) Some fan isn't connected right. This would not be the issue at first, but you have disassembled the computer since then and may have unplugged something unintentionally.

6) Motherboard is fried. Unless you can SEE a damaged capacitor, you'll never find it.



Best bet? Take out the hard drive, attach it to the good computer and access the e-mails that way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:39 am
Posts: 141
Location: Baytown, Texas
Thanks for the reply. That was going to be my next question. It looks like my old hard drive has the same connections as in the new one. Are you saying to take the hard drive out of the old computer (windows Vista) and replace it in the new computer that is windows 10. Is that compatible?

_________________
I think of a hero as someone who understands the degree of responsibility that comes with his freedom.
Bob Dylan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 6:35 pm 
Offline
CCW likes me more than Rollo
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 31441
Location: I lubricate my chains with wax
I did NOT mean replace. Add the drive temporarily so that your working computer has two drives. Read the data you need. Then retire the drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:39 am
Posts: 141
Location: Baytown, Texas
Thank you so much. I'll give it a try but I have to ask a stupid question. First, I'm not real computer literate. I'm assuming that I would utilize the same cable that the new computer is on, 2nd) will windows 10 tell me they have found new hardware and assign it a drive similar to how it does my external hard drive, 3rd) this is the root cause for me not already swapping over to the new computer.
When I copied and saved all our email from the old computer (windows vista and outlook express) and transferred it to the new computer (windows 10 and MS outlook) all I see on the new computer emails is code words with the time/date/ size of the file. If you click on an email it will read it just fine, it's just that I cant ID anything.
I HATE COMPUTERS
Steve

_________________
I think of a hero as someone who understands the degree of responsibility that comes with his freedom.
Bob Dylan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:15 pm 
Offline
CCW likes me more than Rollo
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 31441
Location: I lubricate my chains with wax
yeah, like an external drive.

migrating client side e-mails from one computer to another can be a huge pain.

There's probably a way to do it less painfully than just a pile of files in a directory. The key word you are looking for in the menus is probably "import". But every e-mail client is different in this regard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:39 am
Posts: 141
Location: Baytown, Texas
Adam, Thanks for your help and advice. I will try that tomorrow morning. I am burnt out and brain dead from working on this all frikkin day.

_________________
I think of a hero as someone who understands the degree of responsibility that comes with his freedom.
Bob Dylan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:51 pm
Posts: 86913
Give Rollo a call when your ready tommorow, he'll walk you right through it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:13 pm 
Offline
Smoe old dude's fried ball sundae~4-Ever!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:00 pm
Posts: 58411
Rollo is an advocate of dumb terminals and all functions done by Google when they finish buying everything.

Except JPEG storage of porn, of Coors.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Copyright 2011, Georgia Pig Productions
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group